

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: March 27, 2024

**MEDIA CONTACT:** 

Nahal Mogharabi, (909) 396-3773, Cell: (909) 837-2431 Connie Villanueva, (909) 396-2409, Cell: (909) 215-5601

press@agmd.gov

## South Coast AQMD to Host 34<sup>th</sup> Annual Clean Air Awards to Celebrate the Leaders Improving the Health of Our Communities and Environment

**DIAMOND BAR** – The 34<sup>th</sup> Annual Clean Air Awards, hosted by the South Coast Air Quality Management District (South Coast AQMD), is scheduled for Friday, April 5, 2024. This event celebrates the remarkable contributions of community leaders, organizations, and businesses dedicated to improving air quality and a better quality of life. Set to commence at 11:30 a.m., the virtual ceremony will feature Autumn Robertson, the esteemed Meteorologist from Spectrum News 1, as the emcee.

This year's awardees include:

- Los Angeles City Council President Paul Krekorian for the S. Roy Wilson Memorial Award for Leadership in Government
  - Los Angeles City Council President Paul Krekorian will be honored with this award for serving as a prominent role model for leadership in the arena of clean air advancements.
- Congressman Raul Ruiz, M.D. for the Robert M. Zweig, M.D. Memorial Award
   Congressman Raul Ruiz, M.D. will be honored with this award for his exemplary dedication to
   protecting public health through the passage of his "Environmental Justice Act," supporting
   efforts to mitigate and remediate impacts related to the Salton Sea, and countless other efforts
   to uplift overburdened communities in the Eastern Coachella Valley and beyond.
- California Attorney General Rob Bonta for the *Dr. William A. Burke Award for Leadership in Environmental Justice* 
  - California Attorney General Rob Bonta will be honored for consistently championing initiatives to improve air quality and for giving a voice to frontline communities.
- Schneider National Inc. and the Joint Electric Truck Scaling Initiative (JETSI) for the John J. and Ben J. Benoit Award for Innovative Clean Air Technology Award
  - Schneider National Inc. and the Joint Electric Truck Scaling Initiative (JETSI) will be honored with this award for their commitment to sustainability and for embracing clean technology in reducing the company's environmental footprint.

The University of California, Riverside's Bourns College of Engineering - Center for
Environmental Research & Technology for the Leadership in Air Quality Award (1 of 2)
The University of California, Riverside's Bourns College of Engineering - Center for Environmental
Research & Technology will be honored with this award for being a leading force in tackling air
quality challenges and for pioneering the development of technologies that protect our
environment.

## Los Angeles City Councilmember Monica Rodriguez for the *Leadership in Air Quality Award (2 of 2)*

Los Angeles City Councilmember Monica Rodriguez will receive the award for her leadership in advocating for clean air and environmental justice, prioritizing sustainable solutions, and empowering communities to address environmental challenges.

Emily Ng for the Youth Leadership in Air Quality Award
 Emily Ng will receive this honor for her long-standing dedication to environmental sustainability through her work with South Coast AQMD, Southern California Association of Governments, as a volunteer for API Forward Movement's Clean Air San Gabriel Valley campaign, and as a CivicSpark AmeriCorps Fellow in the City of Los Angeles Mayor's Office of Sustainability.

This virtual event is free and open to the public, but registration is required to participate. For more information and to register, please visit: <a href="https://www.aqmd.gov/caa">www.aqmd.gov/caa</a>.

South Coast AQMD is the regulatory agency responsible for improving air quality for large areas of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside and San Bernardino counties, including the Coachella Valley. For news, air quality alerts, event updates and more, please visit us at <a href="https://www.aqmd.gov">www.aqmd.gov</a>, download our award-winning app, or follow us on <a href="facebook">Facebook</a>, X (formerly known as Twitter) and <a href="mailto:lnstagram">lnstagram</a>.