BOARD MEETING DATE:	February 6, 2015	AGENDA NO.	17
	1001001 0, 2010	IIODI (DI IIIO)	1,

REPORT: Stationary Source Committee

SYNOPSIS: The Stationary Source Committee met Friday, January 23, 2015. Following is a summary of that meeting.

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Receive and file.

Dennis Yates, Chair Stationary Source Committee

MN:am

Attendance

The meeting began at 10:30 a.m. In attendance at SCAQMD Headquarters were Mayor Dennis Yates and Dr. Joseph Lyou. Mayor Ben Benoit attended via videoconference. Absent were Supervisor Shawn Nelson and Councilmember Judith Mitchell.

ACTION ITEMS

1. Home Rule Advisory Group Membership Alternate

Dr. Joseph Lyou, as chair of the Home Rule Advisory Group, suggested this item be approved.

Moved (Lyou), seconded (Benoit) and unanimously recommended for approval.

2. Authorize Supplemental Funding for Norton Engineering

Joe Cassmassi, Planning and Rules Manager briefed the Committee on staff's request to amend the contract with Norton Engineering for \$12,000 to provide supplemental analysis in support of the NOx RECLAIM rule amendment. He indicated that the task Norton Engineering will provide addresses disaggregation of confidential complex engineering cost analyses that will be forwarded to the refinery

stakeholders. This is a critical element in the rule development process. No comments were received from the committee or public.

Moved (Lyou), seconded (Benoit) and unanimously recommended for approval.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

3. Status Report on Reg. XIII – New Source Review

Mohsen Nazemi, Deputy Executive Officer of Engineering and Compliance, gave a presentation on the history and current status of the District's compliance with federal New Source Review (NSR) offset requirements. The presentation covered some of the history of the District's NSR Tracking and the current and projected balances, as well as the trends, of the District's internal offset accounts. Both the preliminary Calendar Year (CY) 2013 and the projected CY 2014-2015 federal offsets account balances are determined to remain positive thus indicating continued compliance with federal NSR offset requirements. Mr. Nazemi also explained that this is a preliminary determination of equivalency for CY 2013, and therefore includes only debits not credits, and that credits will be included in the final determination of equivalency for CY 2013, which will be presented to Stationary Source Committee in July 2014 and to the Governing Board in September 2015. Mayor Yates asked if the Native American Reservations are subject to NSR. Mohsen Nazemi and Barbara Baird explained that the Tribes are only subject to federal NSR and not state or local regulations. Ms. Baird also indicated that Morongo Tribal Land has already been re-designated by EPA to change the ozone major source thresholds from 10 tons per year to 25 tons per year, and Pechanga Tribe is also in the process of getting EPA approval to be re-designated so that the threshold will be 100 tons per year. There were no public comments or questions related to the presentation.

4. Update on Risk Management

Jill Whynot, Assistant Deputy Executive Officer of Engineering and Compliance, provided an update on efforts underway by CARB and CAPCOA to update Risk Management Guidelines that will cover permitting and the Air Toxics Hot Spots Program (AB2588). Updates are needed to reflect changes that the Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment (OEHHA) is making to risk assessment guidelines. The changes reflect new scientific information on childhood sensitivity and exposures, and will result in higher estimated cancer risks for residential exposures, even when emissions have not changed. Ms. Whynot explained the history of the existing guidance documents, some of the potential impacts of the changes, and the efforts underway to revise the guidelines. The objectives, public process, draft concepts and additional efforts that will be taken were described. SCAQMD staff has been evaluating district rules and programs and will bring a work plan to the Governing Board in March to outline what changes staff recommends and the timeline to bring those items through a public process and to the Board for consideration.

Dr. Lyou commented that the draft risk management concepts do not include cancer burden. Mayor Yates asked about OEHHA's role and what happens at the federal level in similar programs. Dr. Lyou had several suggestions for the draft concept paper, including that there are many terms that should be better defined, that there should be equal risk protection regardless of which chemical is emitted, that due process is important so the public can have meaningful input on decisions, and that cumulative impacts are not considered in many of these programs. Staff will discuss these items with the CAPCOA and CARB group.

Curtis Coleman, Southern California Air Quality Alliance, asked if the dates for public workshops have been set, and how notification will be handled. Staff responded that the workshop dates have not been scheduled yet, and we will use many different mailing lists and websites to inform people. Vladimir Kogan from Orange County Sanitation District expressed concern about the increased number of facilities that may be required to do public notice. Frank Caponi from Los Angeles County Sanitation District stated that there is strong interest in this issue because there will be huge impacts to companies. The public process has not been inclusive so far and he would like to have more time and more public process for the statewide and local district efforts.

WRITTEN REPORTS

All written reports were acknowledged by the Committee.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments. Mayor Yates announced that the next Stationary Source Committee meeting is scheduled for February 20, 2015 and adjourned the meeting at 11:25 a.m.

Attachment Attendance Roster

SOUTH COAST AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT STATIONARY SOURCE COMMITTEE January 23, 2015 ATTENDANCE ROSTER (Voluntary)

NAME	AFFILIATION	
Mayor Dennis Yates	SCAQMD Governing Board	
Mayor Ben Benoit (VT)	SCAQMD Governing Board	
Dr. Joseph Lyou	SCAQMD Governing Board	
Mohsen Nazemi	SCAQMD staff	
Jill Whynot	SCAQMD staff	
Elaine Chang	SCAQMD staff	
Barbara Baird	SCAQMD staff	
Danny Luong	SCAQMD staff	
Jean Ospital	SCAQMD staff	
Joe Cassmassi	SCAQMD staff	
Bill Wong	SCAQMD staff	
Bay Gilchrist	SCAQMD staff	
Tina Cox	SCAQMD staff	
Kim White	SCAQMD staff	
Bill Pearce	Boeing	
Curtis Coleman	So. Cal. Air Quality Alliance	
Bill LaMarr	California Small Business Alliance	
Frank Caponi	LA County Sanitation District	
Kris Flaig	LA County Sanitation District	
David Rothbart	LA County Sanitation District	
Vlad Kogan	Orange County Sanitation District	
Rita Loof	RadTech	