BOARD MEETING DATE: October 2, 2020 AGENDA NO. 23

REPORT: Technology Committee

SYNOPSIS: The Technology Committee held a meeting remotely on Friday,

September 18, 2020. The following is a summary of the meeting.

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

Receive and file.

Judith Mitchell, Acting Chair Technology Committee

MMM:av

Committee Members

Present: Supervisor Lisa Bartlett

Board Member Gideon Kracov

Mayor Larry McCallon

Council Member Judith Mitchell Council Member Carlos Rodriguez

Absent: Council Member Joe Buscaino/Chair

Call to Order

Acting Chair Mitchell called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

ACTION ITEMS:

1. Execute Contract to Develop Model for Connected Network of Microgrids

Microgrids are gaining attention as a means of increasing the resiliency and reliability of the electricity system to support alternative fuel transportation. The University of California Irvine Advanced Power and Energy Program (UCI APEP) proposes a study to assess air quality impacts of connected microgrids by evaluating the fueling and charging options of alternative transportation under microgrid control. This action is to execute a contract with UCI APEP to develop

a model for a connected network of microgrids for zero emission transportation in an amount not to exceed \$290,000 from the Clean Fuels Program Fund (31).

Mayor McCallon emphasized the importance of microgrids to support local transit agencies required to convert to zero emission buses, as well as school districts transitioning to zero emission school buses.

Moved by Bartlett; seconded by McCallon; unanimously approved.

Ayes: Bartlett, Kracov, McCallon, Mitchell, Rodriguez

Noes: None Absent: Buscaino

2. Issue Program Announcement for Lower Emission School Bus Program

Since 2001, South Coast AQMD has funded the replacement of over 1,800 pre-1994 publicly owned diesel school buses and retrofitted nearly 3,400 diesel school buses as part of the Lower Emission School Bus Program. In February 2020, CARB issued a guideline update for the Lower Emission School Bus Program allowing the replacement of diesel buses that are more than 20 years old. This action is to issue a Program Announcement to replace pre-2001 model year diesel school buses owned by public school districts with new alternative fuel or zero emission buses.

Council Member Mitchell commented that she does not have a financial interest or conflict of interest but is required to identify for the record that she is a Board Member of CARB which is involved in this item.

Council Member Rodriguez requested a list of school districts that qualify for the Lower Emission School Bus Program and asked if outreach is done across the service area. Staff responded that the requested list would be forwarded, including county designation, and that extensive outreach is conducted to the school districts.

Mayor McCallon inquired about the inventory of pre-2001 school buses in the Basin and if infrastructure funds are also available. Staff explained that the program has recently expanded to include pre-2001 school buses and work is in progress on the inventory, and that funds are available for propane, natural gas and electric charging infrastructure.

Ranji George, a member of the public, commented about the incentive amount for zero emission school buses and urged staff to negotiate with the vendors to lower the cost of electric school buses.

Moved by Kracov; seconded by Bartlett; unanimously approved.

Ayes: Bartlett, Kracov, McCallon, Mitchell, Rodriguez

Noes: None Absent: Buscaino

3. Execute Contract to Develop and Demonstrate Natural Gas and Propane Conversion Systems for Medium-Duty Vehicles

In 2019, the Board approved three projects to develop natural gas and propane conversion systems for the new Ford 7.3-liter gasoline engine with Ford Qualified Vehicle Modifiers, including a \$607,825 award to Agility Fuel Solutions (Agility). However, a contract with Agility was not executed due to lack of necessary Ford approvals. CARB recently adopted a new lower Optional Low NOx Standard of 0.01 g/bhp-hr under the Heavy-Duty On-Road Low NOx "Omnibus" regulation. Subsequently, Agility submitted a revised proposal to further optimize the engine to achieve the newly adopted level. This action is to execute a contract with Agility Fuel Solutions to develop, demonstrate and commercialize the Ford 7.3-liter medium-duty natural gas and propane conversions systems in an amount not to exceed \$607,825 from the Clean Fuels Program Fund (31).

Council Member Mitchell asked about the type of medium-duty trucks this project would cover. Staff responded that this technology could be used in Class 3-7 trucks including utility trucks, vans that are converted to airport shuttles, Class 7 tractor trailers as well as Freightliner chassis used for package delivery vans. Council Member Mitchell supported the potential emission reductions from this project.

Moved by Rodriguez; seconded by Bartlett; unanimously approved.

Ayes: Bartlett, Kracov, McCallon, Mitchell, Rodriguez

Noes: None Absent: Buscaino

OTHER MATTERS:

4. Other Business

There was no other business.

5. Public Comment Period

There was no public comment.

6. Next Meeting Date

The next regular Technology Committee meeting is scheduled for Friday, October 16, 2020 at noon.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 12:24 p.m.

Attachment

Attendance Record

ATTACHMENT

SOUTH COAST AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE MEETING

Attendance Record - September 18, 2020

Supervisor Lisa Bartlett Board Member Gideon Kracov Mayor Larry McCallon Council Member Judith Mitchell Council Member Carlos Rodriguez	South Coast AQMD Board Member South Coast AQMD Board Member South Coast AQMD Board Member
James Dinwiddie	,
Fred Minassian	
Andrew Silva	` ,
Mark Taylor	Board Consultant (Rutherford)
Mark Abramowitz	
Betsy Brian	Public Member
Ranji George	
Sean Kearns	Public Member
Dan McGivney	
Noel Muyco	Public Member
Craig Sakamoto	Public Member
Patty Senecal	WSPA
Alek Van Houghton	Public Member
Zander Zane	Public Member
Naveen Berry	South Coast AQMD Staff
Sam Cao	South Coast AQMD Staff
Seungbum Ha	South Coast AQMD Staff
Sheri Hanizavareh	South Coast AQMD Staff
Mark Henninger	South Coast AQMD Staff
Joseph Impullitti	
Cristina Lopez	
Matt Miyasato	South Coast AQMD Staff
Lisa Mirisola	South Coast AQMD Staff
Ron Moskowitz	South Coast AQMD Staff
Wayne Nastri	South Coast AQMD Staff
Penny Shaw Cedillo	
Yuh Jiun Tan	
Anthony Tang	South Coast AQMD Staff
Alejandra Vega	•
Alejandra Vega Veera Tyagi	
	South Coast AQMD Staff
Veera Tyagi	South Coast AQMD Staff South Coast AQMD Staff