BOARD MEETING DATE: September 1, 2023 AGENDA NO. 4

PROPOSAL: Request Approval of Proposed Membership Roster for Scientific,

Technical, and Modeling Peer Review Advisory Group

SYNOPSIS: Staff is recommending that membership be granted for the

Scientific, Technical, and Modeling Peer Review (STMPR) Advisory Group for a new four-year term. The current term for this Advisory Group is set to expire on September 5, 2023. The STMPR Advisory Group consists of experts in the fields of air

quality modeling, atmospheric chemistry and physics,

socioeconomic modeling and public health. The primary role of the STMPR Advisory Group is to review scientific and technical approaches needed to develop a future AQMP/SIP aimed at demonstrating attainment of the National Ambient Air Quality Standards. In December 2002, the Blue Ribbon Panel developed recommendations for the STMPR Advisory Group, including the applicable Board Committee. The proposed action seeks to approve suggested membership roster for the STMPR Advisory

Group.

COMMITTEE: Mobile Source, August 18, 2023; Recommended for Approval

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

Approve proposed membership roster for the STMPR Advisory Group (Attachment A) for a new four-year term.

Wayne Nastri Executive Officer

SR:IM:SL:MCS

Background

In January 1997, the Board formed six Advisory Groups to provide advice and recommendations to Board Committees and the Board on specific areas of expertise. In December 2002, the Board adopted the Blue Ribbon Panel recommendations regarding the duties and activities of the Advisory Groups. Since then, the STMPR Advisory

Group has contributed to the development of the scientific and technical aspects of the region's AQMPs and have made recommendations concerning emission inventories, photochemical modeling and socioeconomic impacts. Specifically, this advisory group provides critical review of current air quality and socioeconomic modeling techniques, as well as recommendations for proposed new approaches.

The STMPR Advisory Group members are appointed by the Board. The STMPR Advisory Group charter calls for approximately 15 members. The proposed membership for the STMPR Advisory Group is comprised of experts in the fields of air quality modeling, atmospheric chemistry and physics, socioeconomic modeling, and a medical doctor. The previous membership roster for the Advisory Group was approved in September 2019 for a four-year term, expiring in September 2023.

Proposal

Staff is proposing a new membership roster for the STMPR Advisory Group to assist staff with various AQMP/SIP related projects for the new four-year term commencing upon the Board's approval and expiring in September 2027. The proposed membership roster for the STMPR Advisory Group is provided in Attachment A. The roster consists of eight experts in the fields of atmospheric chemistry, physics and air quality modeling, eight experts in the field of socioeconomics, and one physician. The proposed membership roster for the Advisory Group was developed by soliciting nominations from existing Advisory Group members and public members.

The duties of this advisory group will include reviewing and providing feedback on an AQMP/SIP modeling, socioeconomic modeling techniques and making recommendations for and comments on proposed new approaches. The Advisory Group will meet throughout the year at various frequencies (e.g., monthly, quarterly) depending on the plan development schedule.

Resource Impacts

Existing South Coast AQMD resources are adequate to host STMPR Advisory Group meetings.

Attachment

Proposed STMPR Advisory Group Roster

ATTACHMENT A

Proposed Scientific, Technical, and Modeling Peer Review Advisory Group Roster September 2023 to September 2027

No.	Organization	Member	Alternate
1	California Air Resources Board	Dr. Anthony Oliver	
2	California Air Resources Board	Dr. Jeremy Avise	Dr. Chenxia Cai
3	Claremont Graduate University	Dr. Heather Campbell	Dr. Javier Rodriguez
4	Jet Propulsion Laboratory	Dr. Greg Osterman	
5	Self	Eric El-Togby, MD, MPH	
6	Ramboll	Mr. Ralph Morris	
7	Regional Economic Models, Inc.	Dr. Peter Evangelakis	Mr. Billy Leung
8	Southern California Association of Governments	Dr. John Cho	Dr. Mana Sangkapichai
9	University of California, Berkeley	Dr. Reed Walker	
10	University of California, Davis	Dr. Michael Kleeman	
11	University of California, Davis	Dr. Erich Muehlegger	
12	University of California, Irvine	Dr. Alex Gunther	
13	University of California, Los Angeles	Dr. Pablo Saide	
14	University of California, San Diego	Dr. Joshua Graff Zivin	
15	University Corporation for Atmospheric Research	Dr. Kelley Barsanti	
16	US Environmental Protection Agency	Mr. Ken Davidson	
17	US Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9	Dr. Rynda Kay	Dr. William Tsui