BOARD MEETING DATE: April 5, 2024 AGENDA NO. 25

REPORT: Technology Committee

SYNOPSIS: The Technology Committee held a hybrid meeting on Friday,

March 15, 2024. The following is a summary of the meeting.

**RECOMMENDED ACTION:** 

Receive and file.

Carlos Rodriguez, Chair Technology Committee

AK:psc

## **Committee Members**

Present: Supervisor Andrew Do

Supervisor Curt Hagman Mayor Patricia Lock Dawson

Councilmember Carlos Rodriguez, Committee Chair

Absent: Mayor Pro Tem Larry McCallon

Board Member Veronica Padilla-Campos

#### Call to Order

Committee Chair Carlos Rodriguez called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

For additional details of the Technology Committee Meeting, please refer to the Webcast.

#### **ACTION ITEMS:**

# 1. Transfer Funds for Commercial Electric Lawn and Garden Equipment Incentive and Exchange Program

In December 2021, the Board recognized funds from U.S. EPA's FY2021-22 Targeted Airshed Grant Program to fund commercial lawn and garden equipment projects in the Coachella Valley. Subsequently in June 2022, the Board recognized \$5,000,000 from Carl Moyer State Reserve funds for commercial lawn and garden equipment projects under the Carl Moyer Program in the South Coast AQMD jurisdiction (including Coachella Valley). Staff proposes to increase the incentive offered under the EPA-funded program in the Coachella Valley to match Carl Moyer

Program incentives for the Commercial Electric Lawn and Garden Equipment Incentive and Exchange Program. These actions are to: 1) approve the transfer of up to \$2,100,000 from the Rule 1111 Air Quality Investment Fund (27) into the Advanced Technology, Outreach and Education Fund (17) to increase incentives offered under the EPA-funded program from 50 percent to 85 percent; and 2) authorize the Executive Officer to approve vouchers for the Commercial Electric Lawn and Garden Equipment Incentive and Exchange Program for a total amount up to \$6,000,000, comprised of up to \$1,000,000 from the Carl Moyer Program SB 1107 Fund (32) (Grant# G19-MO28) and up to \$5,000,000 from the Carl Moyer Program SB 1107 Fund (32) (Grant# G21-MO-27).

Committee Chair Rodriguez expressed appreciation for continued efforts to provide resources on this program, and efforts to increase participation in Coachella Valley. For additional details, please refer to the <u>Webcast</u> beginning at 3:05.

Moved by Hagman; seconded by Do; unanimously approved.

Ayes: Do, Hagman, Lock Dawson, Rodriguez

Noes: None Abstain: None

Absent: McCallon, Padilla-Campos

# 2. Issue Program Announcement and Execute Contracts for Proposition 1B - Goods Movement Emission Reduction Program

In 2008, \$1 billion in bond funding was authorized under the Proposition 1B — Goods Movement Emission Reduction Program (Prop 1B). The majority of funding under Prop 1B has been allocated, however, there are funds remaining from withdrawn projects. These actions are to: 1) issue a Program Announcement for locomotive retrofit and replacement projects under Prop 1B; and 2) authorize the Executive Officer to execute contracts for eligible locomotive projects under the Prop 1B Program Fund (81) until all funds are exhausted.

Supervisor Hagman commented on the allocation of funds to promote and incentivize advanced locomotive technology. For additional details, please refer to the <u>Webcast</u> beginning at 11:11.

Ranji George, public member, inquired about hydrogen fuel cell technology and the disparity in what South Coast AQMD is spending between battery electric and fuel cell projects. For additional details, please refer to the <u>Webcast</u> beginning at 11:45.

Harvey Eder, Public Solar Power Coalition, agreed with Ranji George's comments. For additional details, please refer to the <u>Webcast</u> beginning at 14:16.

Committee Chair Rodriguez asked for clarification on the Tier 4 project types discussed in the presentation. Dr. Aaron Katzenstein, Deputy Executive Officer/Technology Advancement Office, responded that under this program, battery

electric or hydrogen fuel cell technologies are eligible. In addition, he clarified that about 50 percent of the technology demonstration budget was dedicated to hydrogen fuel cell projects in the past year. South Coast AQMD was awarded one of the largest hydrogen locomotive demonstration projects in the nation - a liquid hydrogen fuel cell locomotive. For additional details, please refer to the <a href="Webcast">Webcast</a> beginning at 17:12.

Moved by Hagman; seconded by Lock Dawson; unanimously approved.

Ayes: Do, Hagman, Lock Dawson, Rodriguez

Noes: None Abstain: None

Absent: McCallon, Padilla-Campos

#### **OTHER MATTERS:**

### 3. Other Business

There was no other business to report.

#### 4. Public Comment Period

Mark Abramowitz, public member, acknowledged Paul Wright's retirement and thanked him for his tremendous contribution and dedication to excellence over the last couple of decades. For additional details, please refer to the <u>Webcast</u> beginning at 20:14.

Mr. George inquired about hydrogen projects. For additional details, please refer to the <u>Webcast</u> beginning at 30:55.

Mr. Eder expressed support for funding for AB 617 communities. For additional details, please refer to the <u>Webcast</u> beginning at 26:13.

Committee Chair Rodriguez expressed appreciation for Paul Wright's legacy of service on behalf of the Technology Committee and the Board. He also requested staff provide additional clarity on hydrogen projects in the annual report. For additional details, please refer to the <u>Webcast</u> beginning at 29:30.

### 5. Next Meeting Date

The next regular Technology Committee meeting is scheduled for Friday, April 19, 2024, at noon.

#### Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 12:28 p.m.

#### Attachment

Attendance Record

# **ATTACHMENT**

## SOUTH COAST AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE MEETING Attendance Record – March 15, 2024

Supervisor Andrew Do	ath Coast AQMD Board Member ath Coast AQMD Board Member
Fred Minassian Board Andy Silva Board Board Taylor Board Boa	ard Consultant (Lock Dawson) ard Consultant (Rodriguez)
Mark Abramowitz Pul Harvey Eder Pul Ranji George Pul	olic Solar Power Coalition
Laurence BrownSonCindy BustillosSonSheri HanizavarehSonJustinn JoeSonAaron KatzensteinSonRuby LaitySonTom LeeSonRon MoskowitzSonGhislain MuberwaSonSusan NakamuraSonWayne NastriSonVasileios PapapostolouSonKristin RemySonPenny Shaw CedilloSonYuh Jiun TanSonLisa TanakaSonCarolina VargasSonKristina VoorheesSonMei WangSon	ath Coast AQMD Staff