

## **COMPLIANCE ADVISORY NOTICE**

Guidelines During Declaration of State Emergency for Energy Reliability August 6, 2021

Recently, the State of California has been experiencing extreme heat events with higher-thanaverage temperatures. These events can increase demand and put significant strain on California's energy grid. As a result, the Office of the Governor and the California Independent System Operator (CAISO) have taken actions to increase energy capacity during these Extreme Heat Events.

On Friday, July 30, 2021, the Governor issued a Proclamation of a State of Emergency concerning electricity reliability for this summer and fall (<u>https://www.gov.ca.gov/wp-</u> <u>content/uploads/2021/07/Energy-Emergency-Proc-7-30-21.pdf</u>). The Proclamation suspends certain permitting requirements and allows facilities to produce more electricity on any day that a Grid Warning or Emergency Notice is issued by CAISO.

The Proclamation suspends state and local air quality and permitting requirements that restrict the amount of power a facility may generate, that restrict the amount of fuel a facility may use, or that impose air quality requirements preventing power plants and operators of back-up generators from generating additional power during peak demand hours. This may include any permit condition, regulation, or law that prohibits, restricts, or penalizes the use of stationary or portable generators during Extreme Heat Events.

In part, the Proclamation allows the use of backup generators and similar backup power sources to increase energy production and meet the demands on California's electrical grid during peak times of this state of emergency. The Proclamation also specifically allows at-berth ships to operate their auxiliary engines during the covered time periods.

The Proclamation requires permitted facilities to notify South Coast AQMD – as well as the California Air Resources Board (CARB) and the California Energy Commission (CEC) – within 48 hours if their operations will result in the exceedance of permit requirements. Additionally, such facilities are required to provide a report to South Coast AQMD, CARB, and the CEC within 30 days of operation, and provide the following information: the additional fuel used, the additional hours of operation, and the energy produced by that additional use. For facilities permitted to operate within South Coast AQMD's jurisdiction, notifications can be sent via email to EmergencyRelief@aqmd.gov.

Examples of permit conditions that may require notification if exceeded include, but are not limited to, limits on total annual hours of operation, maximum heat inputs, daily or monthly emission limits, differential pressures, or fuel usage rates. Requirements that do not restrict power generation, such as monitoring and recordkeeping, will remain in full effect. Facilities that exceed permit requirements and fail to notify South Coast AQMD in accordance with the Proclamation must continue to comply with permit conditions and/or limits.

The suspension of state and local permitting requirements has the potential to significantly impact air quality and can affect our ability to meet attainment of federal air quality standards. Therefore, South Coast AQMD is requesting facilities operating within our jurisdiction to provide an Initial Notification of Intent to Participate with the following information: South Coast AQMD Facility ID, Equipment Address, Facility Contact Information, Basic Equipment Description, Permit Number(s), PERP Registrations, and Engine Tier. Please note that this notification is not a prerequisite for operating equipment pursuant to the Proclamation.

South Coast AQMD encourages facilities to continue to mitigate resulting emissions from increased power generation to the maximum extent possible during this time in order to limit public health impacts. South Coast AQMD supports efforts to reduce energy use and encourages businesses and individuals alike to do their part, including the following:

- Set thermostats to 78° or higher between 3:00 and 10:00 p.m.
- Refrain from using major appliances between 3:00 and 10:00 p.m.
- Turn off unnecessary lights and use energy efficient lamps when needed.
- Keep windows and doors closed to prevent the loss of cooled air.
- Charge electric cars after 9:00 p.m.

For more information regarding this Compliance Advisory, please contact:

Terrence Mann Deputy Executive Officer for Compliance & Enforcement Phone: (909) 396-3023 Email: <u>tmann@aqmd.gov</u>