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 Protect Public Health -- Check Before You Burn  
this Fall and Winter 

SCAQMD requires residents to not burn wood in their fireplaces  
on days when air pollution levels are high  

 
DIAMOND BAR, Calif. -- The South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD) today 
launched its annual fall and winter air pollution prevention program, Check Before You 
Burn.  Aimed at improving Southern California’s air quality by restricting wood burning in 
residential fireplaces on days when air pollution levels are high, Check Before You Burn 
runs from November through the end of February.  
 
A recent SCAQMD survey[1] of residents found that 72 percent of respondents are 
concerned with the air quality where they live but most of these same residents – 67 
percent – did not recognize that wood smoke is a significant contributor to air pollution.   
 
“Southern Californians want to understand impacts to air quality and are demonstrating 
their willingness to make changes for the good of public health,” said SCAQMD’s Executive 
Officer Wayne Nastri. “The Check Before You Burn program is part of this effort and when 
residents are aware of and comply with no-burn days, then together we improve the air 
quality in the region.”  
 
Although some might consider wood smoke “natural,” smoke caused by burning wood in 
fireplaces can emit more than five tons of harmful PM2.5 (fine particulate matter) 
emissions per day in the South Coast Air Basin – more than three times the amount of 
PM2.5 emitted from all of the power plants in the Southland.  Particulate matter in the air 
can cause throat and eye irritation, aggravate asthma and trigger other respiratory 
conditions. Breathing high levels of particulate matter over long periods of time can also 
cause more serious health problems. 
 
No-burn alerts are issued by SCAQMD when stagnant weather conditions elevate fine 
particulate pollution to unhealthy levels. These No-burn days are 24-hour periods when 
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burning wood in fireplaces, backyard fire pits and wood stoves across the entire South 
Coast Air Basin are prohibited. 
 
The Check Before You Burn program encourages residents to take the pledge to Check 
Before You Burn and sign up for no-burn alerts at www.AirAlerts.org.  
 
The fall and wintertime program became mandatory on Nov. 1, 2011, under the provisions 
of SCAQMD’s Rule 445 – Wood-Burning Devices. For more information about SCAQMD and 
the Check Before You Burn program, please visit its web page, http://www.aqmd.gov/cbyb 
or call the toll-free hotline at 866-966-3293 to learn if an alert is in effect. 
 
While air quality has improved dramatically in recent decades -- PM2.5 levels have 
dropped by 51 percent since 2000 -- Southern California still has some of the worst air 
quality in the nation.  

 
SCAQMD is the air pollution control agency for Orange County and major portions of Los 
Angeles, San Bernardino and Riverside counties. 
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[1] Gomez Research, SCAQMD Check Before You Burn Public Opinion Survey 2017, October 2017, 

Pasadena, Calif. 
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