AB 617 Update

Two New Communities will Benefit from AB 617 Program

On December 13th, the California Air Resources Board (CARB) designated two new communities in the  South Coast AQMD for the AB 617 program. The two new communities are:

  • Portions of South East Los Angeles, which includes: Bell Gardens (southern portion), Cudahy, Florence-Firestone (eastern portion), Huntington Park (western portion), South Gate, and Walnut Park.
  • Eastern Coachella Valley, which includes: Coachella, Indio, Mecca, North Shore, Oasis, and Thermal.  

The first community meetings for the two new communities was held on January 9th for South East LA and January 22nd for Eastern Coachella Valley. South Coast AQMD will work closely with each community to develop plans for conducting air monitoring and to reduce emissions.

On September 6, 2019, the South Coast AQMD’s Governing Board adopted the Community Emissions Reduction Plans (CERP) for each of the three communities designated in the first year of the AB 617 program: Wilmington, West Long Beach and Carson; Boyle Heights, East Los Angeles, and West Commerce; and, San Bernardino and Muscoy.  Each CERP is scheduled to go before CARB for approval in March 2020.

For more information on the AB 617 program, visit: For the CERPs submitted to CARB, visit

Newsletter Sign Up
Periodic newsletter updates via Email on a variety of air quality-related topics

South Coast Air Quality Management District

21865 Copley Dr, Diamond Bar, CA 91765


© 2019 South Coast Air Quality Management District