BOARD MEETING DATE: April 1, 2022 AGENDA NO. 21

REPORT: Technology Committee

SYNOPSIS: The Technology Committee held a meeting remotely on Friday,

March 18, 2022. The following is a summary of the meeting.

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

Receive and file.

Rex Richardson, Chair Technology Committee

MMM:psc

Committee Members

Present: Supervisor Andrew Do

Board Member Gideon Kracov

Mayor Larry McCallon

Board Member Veronica Padilla-Campos

Vice Mayor Rex Richardson, Chair

Mayor Carlos Rodriguez

Absent: None

Call to Order

Chair Richardson called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

ACTION ITEMS:

1. Transfer Funds for the Development of the Carl Moyer Program Grant Management System

In September 2021, the Board appropriated up to \$120,000 for the initial development of the Carl Moyer Program Grant Management System. The next phase in development of the Grant Management System is required to incorporate business and administrative processes. This action is to transfer and appropriate up to \$125,000 comprised of \$62,500 from the administrative portion of the Community Air Protection Program Fund (77) and \$62,500 from the administrative portion of

the Carl Moyer Program (Grant# G19-MO28) Fund (32) into Information Management's FY 2021-22 and/or 2022-23 Budget, Professional and Special Services, and/or Capital Outlays Major Objects and reimburse the General Fund (01) using administrative funds for the further development of the Carl Moyer Grant Management System.

Board Member Kracov commented that he does not have a financial interest but is required to identify for the record that he is a Board Member of CARB, which is involved in this item.

Moved by McCallon; seconded by Kracov; unanimously approved.

Ayes: Do, Kracov, McCallon, Padilla-Campos, Richardson, Rodriguez

Noes: None Abstain: None Absent: None

2. Adopt Resolution Recognizing Funds, Issue Program Announcements and Execute or Amend Contracts for Clean Heavy-Duty Vehicles and Advanced Technology Goods Movement Equipment

In November 2021, CARB approved the Fiscal Year 2021-22 Funding Plan for Clean Transportation Incentives in which \$32.1 million from Senate Bill 129 (SB 129), State General Funds for Extreme Nonattainment, were allocated to South Coast AQMD. Also, under the final funding cycle of the Proposition 1B-Goods Movement Program (Prop 1B), there are remaining funds. These actions are to: 1) adopt Resolution of SB 129, State General Funds for Extreme Nonattainment, recognizing up to \$32.1 million from CARB into the Carl Moyer Program SB 1107 Fund (32); 2) issue, and if necessary, re-issue Program Announcements 2022-01 and 2022-02 for Clean Heavy-Duty Vehicles and Advanced Technology Goods Movement Equipment until all allocated funds under SB 129 and remaining Prop 1B funds are exhausted; 3) authorize the Executive Officer to execute or amend contracts for eligible projects approved by CARB; and 4) reimburse administrative costs up to \$1.61 million for the implementation of SB 129, State General Funds for Extreme Nonattainment.

Board Member Kracov commented that he does not have a financial interest but is required to identify for the record that he is a Board Member of CARB, which is involved in this item.

Mayor McCallon inquired if the applicants on the backup list from last year's Carl Moyer solicitation would be funded and inquired on the Proposition 1B allowance of a locomotive replacement with a Tier 4 engine. Staff explained the current solicitation is to prioritize near zero and zero-emission Heavy duty vehicles. This is a priority to assist applicants in meeting the upcoming CARB Truck and Bus

Regulation compliance deadline and submitting a purchase order by September 1, 2022, if the manufacturer delay extension is needed. As for the Proposition 1B Tier 4 locomotive replacement, staff explained that it is allowed under the Proposition 1B Guidelines; however, staff will prioritize zero-emission projects with greater emission reductions.

Board Member Padilla-Campos inquired how the zero-emission projects will be prioritized and if technical support will be available to assist in application submittals. Staff explained that all projects selected through Proposition 1B would be ranked by emission reductions and priority will be given to zero-emission projects which generally rank higher. Staff also explained technical support will be available for applicants that need help or have no computer or internet access.

Harvey Eder, Public Solar Power Coalition, commented about the lack of equity for grant funds and some solar companies may be backed by the oil industry.

Moved by McCallon; seconded by Do; unanimously approved.

Ayes: Do, Kracov, McCallon, Padilla-Campos, Richardson, Rodriguez

Noes: None Abstain: None Absent: None

OTHER MATTERS:

3. Other Business

There was no other business to report.

4. Public Comment Period

Ranji George, a member of the public, asked for members to support the California Hydrogen Business Council letter to California Energy Commission to build stations.

Mr. Eder expressed his support for solar renewables.

5. Next Meeting Date

The next regular Technology Committee meeting is scheduled for Friday, May 18, 2022, at noon.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 12:25 p.m.

Attachment

Attendance Record

ATTACHMENT

SOUTH COAST AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE MEETING Attendance Record – March 18, 2022

Supervisor Andrew Do	South Coast AQMD Board Member
Board Member Gideon Kracov	
Mayor Larry McCallon	South Coast AQMD Board Member
Board Member Veronica Padilla-Campos	
Vice Mayor Rex Richardson	•
Mayor Carlos Rodriguez	
, c	`
Matthew Hamlett	Board Consultant (Richardson)
Mathew Holder	Board Consultant (Rodriguez)
Chris Wangsaporn	Board Consultant (Do)
Amy Wong	
Ross Zelen	Board Consultant (Kracov)
	,
Mark Abramowitz	Public Member
Surya Adhikari	Public Member
Ramine Cromartie	Public Member
Harvey Eder	Public Solar Power Coalition
Ranji George	
-	
Laurence Brown	South Coast AQMD Staff
Penny Shaw Cedillo	South Coast AQMD Staff
Philip Crabbe	South Coast AQMD Staff
Darren Ha	
Sheri Hanizavareh	South Coast AQMD Staff
Mark Henninger	South Coast AQMD Staff
Anissa Heard-Johnson	South Coast AQMD Staff
Aaron Katzenstein	South Coast AQMD Staff
Ruby Laity	South Coast AQMD Staff
Tom Lee	South Coast AQMD Staff
Matt Miyasato	South Coast AQMD Staff
Ron Moskowitz	
Susan Nakamura	South Coast AQMD Staff
Wayne Nastri	South Coast AQMD Staff
Arnold Peneda	South Coast AQMD Staff
Walter Shen	South Coast AQMD Staff
Lisa Tanaka	South Coast AQMD Staff
Donna Vernon	South Coast AQMD Staff
Nick Volpone	South Coast AQMD Staff
Mei Wang	
Vicki White	South Coast AQMD Staff
Fan Xu	South Coast AQMD Staff
Alyssa Yan	South Coast AQMD Staff
-	