

Office of the Executive Officer Barry R. Wallerstein, D. Env. 909.396.2100, fax 909.396.3340

February 6, 2013

Mr. James Goldstene Executive Officer California Air Resources Board 1001 I Street Sacramento, CA 95812

## Submittal of Control Measure IND-01 in the 2012 Air Quality Management Plan

Dear Mr. Goldstene,

At its December 7, 2012 meeting, the South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD) Governing Board adopted the 2012 Air Quality Management Plan (AQMP or Plan) with a motion to delay approval of Control Measure IND-01 (*Backstop Measure for Indirect Sources of Emissions from Ports and Port-Related Facilities*) until the February 1, 2013 Governing Board meeting. The adopted Final 2012 AQMP was forwarded to the California Air Resources Board (CARB) on December 20, 2012 with subsequent approval at its January 25, 2013 Board meeting. On February 1, 2013, the SCAQMD Governing Board approved Control Measure IND-01 for inclusion in the Final 2012 AQMP.

This letter is the formal submission of Control Measure IND-01 to CARB for its approval and subsequent submittal to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as part of the PM2.5 State Implementation Plan (SIP). See attachment for the control measure text, which will be included in Appendix IV-A of the Final 2012 Plan. Further, the approval of Control Measure IND-01, as originally proposed, does not change the analysis in the Final 2012 Plan.

In order to assist in your review and approval process, the following documents are being submitted in hardcopy.

• Control Measure IND-01 (Backstop Measure for Indirect Sources of Emissions from Ports and Port-Related Facilities)

## Cleaning the air that we breathe ...

• Governing Board Adoption Resolution 13-1 approving Control Measure IND-01 (*Backstop Measure for Indirect Sources of Emissions from Ports and Port-Related Facilities*) for submittal into the 2012 AQMP SIP.

If you have any questions, please contact me at (909) 396-2100 or Dr. Elaine Chang, Deputy Executive Officer, at (909) 396-3186.

Sincerely, Barry R. Wallerstein, D.Env

Executive Officer

Attachments

cc: Deborah Jordan, U.S.EPA, Region IX Wienke Tax, U.S.EPA, Region IX Elaine Chang, SCAQMD Hasan Ikhrata, SCAG (w/o Attachments) Barbara Baird, SCAQMD Laki Tisopulos, SCAQMD Philip Fine, SCAQMD

EC:PMF:MK