Assembly Bill 617 (AB 617) Update

The AB 617 Program continues to work toward the improvement of air quality and public health in environmental justice communities. The community-based program brings together local residents, health and environmental organizations, government agencies, and other stakeholders to form Community Steering Committees (CSCs) to develop and implement plans to help reduce air pollution. These plans are known as the Community Emission Reduction Plans (CERPs) and Community Air Monitoring Plans (CAMPs). The CERPs focus on community-identified air quality priorities and the CAMPs provide strategies for air quality monitoring that are unique to that community.

Currently, six communities have been designated as AB 617 Communities in the South Coast AQMD:

1. East Los Angeles, Boyle Heights, West Commerce
2. San Bernardino, Muscoy
3. Wilmington, Carson West Long Beach
4. Eastern Coachella Valley
5. Southeast Los Angeles
6. South Los Angeles

The California Air Resources Board approved the CERP for the newest AB 617 community, South Los Angeles (SLA), on August 25, 2022. With the approval of the SLA CERP, all six South Coast AQMD AB 617 communities are now in the implementation phase of the program. The agency will continue to work with CSC members throughout the implementation process and will hold quarterly meetings to update the community on the progress of the CERP and CAMP.

For more information on the AB 617 program or meeting schedules, visit:

Newsletter Sign Up
Periodic newsletter updates via Email on a variety of air quality-related topics

South Coast Air Quality Management District

21865 Copley Dr, Diamond Bar, CA 91765


© 2022 South Coast Air Quality Management District